Abbott Laboratories Earnings: Revenue Holds, Margins and EPS Retreat
Abbott’s revenue held near the prior-year level, but operating margin and EPS declined sharply. Cash generation remains supportive, leaving the shares near fair value rather than clearly inexpensive.
Price
$103.84
Fair value
$111.00
Upside
+6.9%
Fwd P/E
27.9x
EV/EBITDA
0.0x
FCF yield
4.1%
ROIC 6.5% · Horizon 3-5 years
Investment thesis
Why is this mispriced?
- 01
1. Revenue remained resilient at $11.164B, but the 0.2% year-over-year increase was insufficient to offset a significant deterioration in operating profitability.
- 02
2. EPS declined 39.6% and operating margin fell from 18.4% to 12.0%, making margin recovery the central requirement for future upside.
- 03
3. Annual free cash flow of $7.39B in 2025 provides meaningful valuation support, while the latest quarter generated another $0.916B after capital expenditures.
- 04
4. At $103.84, Abbott trades only 6.9% below the $111 base-case fair value, which is not enough to qualify as undervalued under the stated 15% threshold.
Business
Overview
Abbott Laboratories (ABT) is a NYSE-listed healthcare company classified in the supplied materials under pharmaceutical preparations. The provided filing extract does not disclose segment revenue, geographic exposure, customer concentration or detailed industry positioning, so this update does not infer them. The analysis instead focuses on the reported consolidated financial changes: $11.164B of quarterly revenue, $1.345B of operating income, $1.077B of net income and $0.916B of free cash flow. One source inconsistency matters: the latest filing is for the period ended June 30, 2026, which indicates Q2 FY2026, while the supplied quarterly table labels the matching values Q1 FY2026. This article follows the filing period and treats the results as Q2 FY2026.
What changed this quarter
Abbott’s top line was stable, but the earnings produced from that revenue weakened materially. Revenue reached $11.164B, up $24M, or 0.2%, from $11.140B in Q2 FY2025. With no management guidance or consensus estimate supplied, the prior-year quarter is the required reference. Revenue therefore registered a narrow mechanical beat, although the change is too small to indicate a meaningful acceleration in demand.
Gross profit was $4.397B, equal to a calculated gross margin of 39.4%. A valid year-over-year gross-margin comparison is not available because the supplied historical table reports gross margin as zero across all periods, which appears to represent unavailable data rather than an economic margin. The current gross margin can be calculated directly, but it should not be described as improving or deteriorating without a comparable prior-period figure.
The clearer change occurred below gross profit. Operating income was $1.345B, producing an operating margin of 12.0%. That compares with a supplied operating margin of 18.4% in Q2 FY2025, a contraction of 6.4 percentage points. Applying the prior-year margin to prior-year revenue implies approximately $2.050B of operating income, so the current result represents an implied decline of roughly one-third. This is the principal negative change in the quarter.
Net income was $1.077B, and reported EPS was $0.61. EPS fell from $1.01 in the prior-year quarter, a decline of 39.6%. The direction and scale are consistent with the reduction in operating profitability. The supplied materials contain no earnings release or management explanation, so the analysis cannot attribute the decline to product mix, restructuring, litigation, foreign exchange, acquisition-related charges or another specific factor.
Cash conversion was better than the earnings comparison. Cash from operations totaled $1.315B and capital expenditures were $399M, resulting in free cash flow of $916M. The supplied table lists no free cash flow for Q2 FY2025, using a value of zero. That makes the current quarter a mechanical beat under the comparison rule, but not a reliable indication of year-over-year growth because the zero may reflect missing quarterly cash-flow data.
Why it matters for the thesis
This quarter shifts attention from revenue resilience to the quality of earnings. Abbott preserved its revenue base, but substantially less operating income and EPS emerged from roughly the same level of sales. For a mature large-cap healthcare company, that divergence matters because the valuation depends not only on stable demand but also on the ability to convert demand into durable cash earnings.
The operating-margin decline is the most important thesis variable. A 12.0% margin remains positive, but it is well below both the 18.4% prior-year quarter and the 18.2% reported for full-year 2025. Without management commentary in the supplied materials, it is not possible to determine whether the decline is temporary or structural. Future quarters need to show either margin recovery or sufficient revenue growth to compensate for the lower profitability.
Free cash flow limits the downside to the interpretation. Abbott generated $916M in the quarter and $7.39B during 2025. The company also reported $6.803B of cash against $12.929B of debt, leaving calculated net debt of $6.126B. That net debt is below one year of 2025 free cash flow, indicating manageable financial leverage based on the figures provided.
The combination produces a balanced rather than decisively positive update. Cash generation and modest net leverage support business quality, but flat revenue, lower EPS and compressed margins argue against expanding the valuation multiple. The quarter therefore does not justify treating the stock as materially undervalued at the current price.
What ABBOTT LABORATORIES is worth after the print
There is no prior SageNoodle valuation to carry forward, so this report establishes an initial range using an equity-value approach based on normalized free cash flow. Each scenario applies an explicit multiple to assumed annual free cash flow, subtracts $6.126B of net debt and divides by 1.747B shares. The base case uses reported 2025 free cash flow of $7.39B because one quarter does not provide enough evidence to replace the most recent full-year cash-generation baseline.
The bear case assumes normalized free cash flow declines to $6.50B and applies a 24 times multiple. That produces equity value of approximately $149.9B, or $86 per share after rounding. This outcome would be consistent with operating-margin pressure persisting and the latest EPS decline proving more structural than temporary.
The base case holds normalized free cash flow at $7.39B and applies a 27 times multiple. After net debt, the calculation produces approximately $193.4B of equity value, or $111 per share. Against the current price of $103.84, that implies 6.9% upside. Under the required verdict rule, upside below 15% means the shares are fairly valued rather than undervalued.
The bull case assumes annual free cash flow reaches $7.80B and applies a 30 times multiple, producing approximately $227.9B of equity value, or $130 per share. That scenario requires margin recovery and continued cash generation. The assigned probabilities are 25% bear, 50% base and 25% bull.
Abbott’s price-to-earnings ratio is 27.9 times based on the current price and reported 2025 EPS of $3.72. Its free-cash-flow yield is approximately 4.1% using 2025 free cash flow and the current market capitalization. EBITDA is not disclosed in the supplied inputs, so EV/EBITDA cannot be calculated; the 0.0 snapshot entry denotes unavailable data, not a zero multiple. The displayed 6.5% ROIC annualizes current-quarter operating income and applies the supplied 79% after-tax factor to current debt plus equity, making it a run-rate assumption rather than a reported company figure.
What could prove this wrong
The base case would be too conservative if the operating-margin decline resulted from identifiable, temporary costs that reverse quickly. A return toward the 18.2% full-year 2025 margin, combined with stable revenue, could restore earnings without requiring aggressive top-line growth. Sustained free cash flow above the $7.39B base-case assumption would also support the bull-case valuation.
The base case would be too optimistic if 12.0% represents a new operating-margin level rather than a temporary trough. A prolonged gap from the prior-year 18.4% margin could reduce normalized free cash flow below the amount used in the valuation. Because the supplied materials do not explain the cost or mix drivers, this is the most important unresolved question.
Cash conversion also needs confirmation. The latest quarter generated $916M of free cash flow, but that is below one quarter of the $7.39B generated in 2025. Quarterly working-capital timing can create substantial variation, so one period is not sufficient to establish a lower annual run rate. Several additional quarters would be needed to distinguish timing effects from weaker underlying conversion.
Finally, the valuation leaves limited room for error. The stock is only 6.9% below base-case fair value and trades at 27.9 times 2025 EPS. If earnings remain under pressure, multiple compression could accompany lower fundamental estimates. The thesis is therefore not that Abbott is deeply mispriced; it is that cash generation and a manageable balance sheet offset, but do not erase, the quarter’s margin and earnings deterioration.
Financial performance
The numbers
Revenue ($B)
Margins (%)
Free cash flow ($B)
ROIC vs net debt
| Period | Revenue | Gross % | Op % | FCF | EPS | ROIC % | Net debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 2022 | 11.3 | 0.00 | 21.1 | 0.00 | 1.14 | 5.10 | -8.94 |
| Q3 2022 | 10.4 | 0.00 | 17.0 | 0.00 | 0.81 | 3.90 | -9.59 |
| Q1 2023 | 9.75 | 0.00 | 15.5 | 0.76 | 0.75 | 3.20 | -9.16 |
| Q2 2023 | 9.98 | 0.00 | 15.5 | 0.00 | 0.78 | 3.30 | -7.83 |
| Q3 2023 | 10.1 | 0.00 | 16.2 | 0.00 | 0.82 | 3.50 | -6.71 |
| Q1 2024 | 9.96 | 0.00 | 13.9 | 0.63 | 0.70 | 2.80 | -6.28 |
| Q2 2024 | 10.4 | 0.00 | 16.1 | 0.00 | 0.74 | 3.40 | -6.99 |
| Q3 2024 | 10.6 | 0.00 | 17.5 | 0.00 | 0.94 | 3.70 | -7.56 |
| Q1 2025 | 10.4 | 0.00 | 16.3 | 0.93 | 0.76 | 2.70 | -6.53 |
| Q2 2025 | 11.1 | 0.00 | 18.4 | 0.00 | 1.01 | 3.20 | -6.95 |
| Q3 2025 | 11.4 | 0.00 | 18.1 | 0.00 | 0.94 | 3.20 | -7.51 |
| Q1 2026 | 11.2 | 0.00 | 12.0 | 0.92 | 0.61 | 2.00 | -6.80 |
From the calls
Management commentary
Valuation
Three scenarios
Dot marks the current price of $103.84.
Bear
25%$86
Normalized free cash flow multiple less net debt
- Normalized annual FCF
- $6.50B
- FCF multiple
- 24.0x
- Net debt
- $6.126B
- Diluted shares
- 1.747B
Operating margin remains near the latest 12.0% level, and weaker earnings begin to reduce normalized cash generation.
Base
50%$111
Normalized free cash flow multiple less net debt
- Normalized annual FCF
- $7.39B
- FCF multiple
- 27.0x
- Net debt
- $6.126B
- Diluted shares
- 1.747B
Revenue remains resilient, free cash flow holds near the 2025 level and margins recover enough to prevent a structural reduction in cash earnings.
Bull
25%$130
Normalized free cash flow multiple less net debt
- Normalized annual FCF
- $7.80B
- FCF multiple
- 30.0x
- Net debt
- $6.126B
- Diluted shares
- 1.747B
Operating profitability rebounds while stable revenue and improved cash conversion lift annual free cash flow above the 2025 result.
Both sides
Bull vs bear
Bull case
- Revenue remained stable at $11.164B despite the sharp decline in earnings.
- The latest quarter generated $916M of free cash flow after $399M of capital expenditures.
- Calculated net debt of $6.126B is below reported 2025 free cash flow of $7.39B.
- Margin recovery could produce meaningful earnings improvement without requiring rapid revenue growth.
Bear case
- Operating margin contracted 6.4 percentage points year over year to 12.0%.
- EPS declined 39.6% despite revenue increasing 0.2%.
- The supplied materials provide no management explanation for the profitability decline.
- At 27.9 times 2025 EPS, the valuation offers limited protection if margins remain compressed.
What could break
Risk matrix
| Risk | Severity | Probability | Rationale |
|---|---|---|---|
| Operating-margin compression persists | High | Medium | The latest operating margin of 12.0% was materially below 18.4% in the prior-year quarter and 18.2% for full-year 2025. |
| Free cash flow falls below the normalized baseline | High | Medium | Quarterly free cash flow was $916M, while the valuation assumes normalized annual free cash flow of $7.39B. |
| Valuation multiple contracts | Medium | Medium | The shares trade at 27.9 times reported 2025 EPS, leaving limited tolerance for continued earnings weakness. |
| Disclosure limits obscure the cause of the decline | Medium | High | No earnings release or extracted management discussion was provided to distinguish temporary charges from structural operating pressure. |
Timeline
Catalysts
- Next quarterly report; date not disclosedNeutral
Evidence on operating-margin direction
The next reported period should help determine whether the 12.0% operating margin was temporary or the beginning of a lower profitability run rate.
- Next quarterly report; date not disclosedNeutral
Confirmation of annual cash conversion
Additional cash-flow data will indicate whether the latest $916M of quarterly free cash flow is consistent with the $7.39B normalized annual assumption.
History
Thesis tracker
| Period | Fair value | Verdict | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Q2 FY2026 | $111 | Fairly Valued | Initial coverage. Stable revenue and positive free cash flow support the valuation, but the decline in operating margin and EPS prevents a more constructive verdict. |
Developments
Related news
Citations